High Intensity Interval Training or HIIT, is something that I have only recently started hearing about. HIIT is an exercise strategy that is intended to improve performance with short training sessions. The benefits of this are increasing cardio vascular strength and burning fat in a short and intense workout. I’ve done Interval training while running, of course not enough, I enjoy my tempo runs more than the short bursts of speed. But, I do know the benefits of running at faster speeds. If you don’t train to run fast, you won’t run fast.

But back to HIIT… I’ve been doing Insanity for a few months now, and love the intensity and workout that I get from it. So these workouts are Intense, and the intervals during those workouts probably go a little longer than what HIIT mentions.

Here is a great article from Spark People that talks about HIIT – . I will quickly summarize it here.

  • HIIT trains and conditions both your anaerobic and aerobic energy systems.
  • HIIT increases the amount of calories you burn during your exercise session.
  • HIIT will improve your athletic endurance as well as your fat-burning potential.
  • What is different about HIIT is that high intensity intervals involve maximum effort

One of the biggest things that I like about what High Intensity Interval Training is that it is designed to boost cardiovascular fitness, endurance, and fat loss, while not losing muscle in the process.

I’m currently in a program of a P90X/ Insanity hybrid program as I prepare for the TransRockies multi-day multi-stage race.  I plan on adding in some HIIT workouts in my Hybrid with Beachbody’s new program Turbo Fire that centers around HIIT workouts.

Turbo Fire is an update to the hugely successful Turbo Jam workout series that was released by fitness trainer Chalene Johnson.  Turbo Fire states that these exercises will burn up to 9x more fat and calories than regular cardio does.   The routines will be set to music specifically designed for the workouts.

There is also the After-Burn affect, which states that due to the short bursts of  intense exercise with quick recovery periods your metabolism will go into overdrive.  Turbo Fire says its workouts enable you to burn fat at an accelerated rate for a full 24 to 48 hours after the workout.

Here is a quick video of what the feel and flavor of Turbo Fire will be

I will need to determine which workouts I add into my schedule, there are 3 workouts in the Standard edition specifically for HIIT, a 15, 20, & 25 minute long HIIT workout.  So, I will probably be adding these, but I will probably also supplement with Fire 45 & Fire 55 Workouts.

I will post more here when I try them out.

From first glance, it looks like the program may have a little something for everyone, from increasing Cardiovascular strength & Endurance, to shedding some extra fat with the After-Burn affect.

Here is where you can view some more info and pick up a copy and see what Turbo Fire can do for you.  TURBO FIRE!

