Well, it is Sunday again, and I’ve completed another 7 days of the 21 day challenge. During week 2, I strayed a little from the diet, nothing bad, but some bread here, peanut butter there, and a diet soda at that one point. I did get to the gym 5 times this week, which is good. I am feeling a lot less stressed going into the final week of the challenge, so that is good.

I did gain 1 pound to take me up to 204. I would like to get to at least 195 by the end, and ultimately, I would like to be around 180. I’m not too concerned with the number attached to how much I weigh, but to how good I feel. Last summer, I got down to 192, and my running was doing great, not quite to the level I wanted, but good.

So, going into the final week, I will post a few things about the 21 day challenge here, if people are interested in trying it. I am going to work hard this week, but it will be an odd week. I have a trip for work on Wednesday night, and of course the 4th of July is coming up on the last day of the challenge.

As for meals, I’m going to eat more Kitchari during the last week. I cooked it for the first time last night, and it is very filling and easily digested. It is mainly Basmati Rice, Lentils, & spices. There are many different variations of kitchari. Ayurvedic physicians often prescribe a kitchari diet before, during, and after panchakarma, a rejuvenate treatment that cleanses toxins stored in bodily tissues as it restores systemic balance. Kitchari provides solid nourishment while allowing the body to devote energy to healing. You can safely subsist on kitchari anytime in order to build vitality and strength as it helps balance all three doshas. I will post the recipe that I used below:

1 Cup Basmati Rice
1/2 Cup of yellow Mung Beans (Lentils) I couldn’t find yellow, so I used green
2 tablespoons of Ghee
1 teaspoon Cumin
1 teaspoon Coriander
I may add some ginger next time.

Bring 4 cups of water to a boil and add the ingredients. Boil for 5 minutes stirring often, then simmer for 20 – 25 minutes. There are numerous different recipes, a Google search will yield a lot of results.

After week 3, I’m planning on doing a home version of the PanchaKarma to complete a total rejuvenation. I will have less running during that week, so I will see what happens.

