I was tagged by one of my running buddies – Chefsy– to answer a short running questionnaire.  So here are my answers to the 5 questions posted, I got a little poetic on question 3.  Oh, and here are the rules of the Tag…

Copy the rules (or your version of them) and the set of questions onto your blog post, provide your own answers and then tag at least 5 new people. If tagged, you’ll find your name at the end of this post.

To be sure everyone tagged knows they’ve been invited to play, go to their blogs and leave them a comment notifying and referring them to your blog for details.

Lastly, once the chosen have answered the questions on their own blog, they should come back to yours to tell you.

I didn’t really tag anyone, so if you are reading this and you have a moment — TAG! 🙂

1. How would you describe your running 10 years ago?

        I really started running in early 2005.  10 years ago my running was very limited, maybe 10 miles per week.  I still got out for early morning jogs though.


2. What is your best and worst run/race experience? 

        I have had many good and bad experiences in races ranging from hitting the wall at 20 to winning my age group in a 10K. 

 

        My best would be running the 2008 Relay in California.  I met new Nike+ friends and we ran a relay.  I ran some of my fastest times and overcame some mental barriers dealing with hills.

 

        My worst experience would have to be my first marathon.  I hit the wall around mile 17 and had a hard time with the distance, I ended last in my age group, but I finished.  It was bitter sweet, I had run a marathon, so in that regard it wasn’t my worst experience.  It couldn’t have been too bad, I have ran 5 marathons since that one and shaved over 1 hour and 45 minutes off that first marathon time J.

 


3. Why do you run?

 

        There are many reasons and many motivations.  When I don’t run, the day doesn’t seem to flow correctly; an early morning run really starts the day on the right track. 

 

I run for the runners high, it is such an extreme feeling

I run for peace of mind, running is a mental healing

I run for the chance to arrange my thoughts and reflect

I run for the clarity, the thoughts, the ideas that I collect

 

I run for health, the steady footfalls keep me fit

I run for the sweat, sometimes an ounce per minute

I run for the goals, milestones, and trials yet to be set

I run for the speed, for distance, for adventure in the sunset

 

I run for the friendship, bonds I’ve built from nation to nation

I run for Nike+, the people, the challenges, the inspiration

I run for me; to maintain my mind, body, & soul

I run for them; people, charities, causes, & the world as a whole

 

I run for the feeling of achievement, one step further, one step faster

I run for the chance to push past the limit, a new challenge to master

I run for the hope it may bring, to assist and inspire

I run for all these reasons and more I run to aspire

 

My history of running…

        It was in 2005 when I got serious about running.  I was in my new job and my coworkers all ran, maybe it was peer pressure.  I was 250 pounds at the time and a bit out of shape.  So in the beginning it was more of a health & social motivation. 

        As time passed, I enjoyed running more and more.  As I lost weight, I gained a passion.  In late 2006 along came Nike+ and my love of running grew exponentially.  The aspects of Nike+ helped take my running further than it had before.  Now, normal training runs became more race-like, I met people around the world (both virtually and in person), my running took on a new form.

        In 2008 I started to train harder and lost more weight.  I joined a gym and met with a trainer to help take my running to the next level.  April was a turning point as some of my mental running barriers fell away during a team relay race in California.  May & June were banner months as I set new PRs in all 4 race distances.


4. What is the best or worst piece of advice you’ve been given about running?

 

        Best advice would be to get a gait analysis.  It turns out that I was running in the wrong type of shoes and I needed to go up one size.  My leg issues disappeared and all was well.


5. Tell us something surprising about yourself that not many people would know.

 

        I was an extra in Tim Burton’s Movie Mars Attacks.  The filming was in 1995 at Red Lake near Kingman Arizona.  I spent 2 weeks on location and was a background camera man.  It was an awesome experience and I definitely would do it again.  I have a few pictures packed away in a box somewhere, when I locate them I will post them up on my blog J

